Blog Exclusive: My Tour of the BBC

Today, I had the honour of being invited to a tour around the BBC Newcastle Studios, (The Pink Palace). I got to see how news is gathered and presented for both television and radio. quite simply was the most intuitive 2 hours I have ever done.

While being shown the Television news Studio the Breakfast presenter Colin Briggs explained how he does the news bulletins and even showed me how to control the autocue and how to read off the cue. 

After some photo opportunities, we were shown the radio side of broadcasting where I got to meet Alfie Joey, one of the breakfast hosts. I told him how I am an amateur journalist and about the blog. He turned around and told me “you’re not an amateur you are a proper journalist” never have so few words inspired me further. 

Our final stop on the tour was to make our own special edition of Look North. What fun we had! Everything went perfectly and I can definitely see myself becoming a newsreader.

Today was the day that I discovered my passion for what I do and love writing these articles and I am going to pursue this as my career 

Stay tuned for more articles soon until then 

Jordan 

Author: JordanDodds

Lead Author and Owner of Journaling Thoughts, Aspiring Journalist and writer. follow on twitter @its_jordandodds

Leave a Reply

