Sexism and the double standard

At the Rio Olympic opening ceremony, the flag bearer for the team representing Tonga made the majority of headlines around the world. Due to the nature of his presentation. Pita Taufatofua was wearing the traditional Tongan outfit along with his body oiled up.

Since the Opening ceremony, Pita Taufatofua has been consistently objectified, not because of his sport and his athleticism more for his looks. The main group objectifying him has been women. (good example click here)

Now I am in no way sexist or misogynistic. in fact, I believe in a society where our genders are equal in all aspects. But what I don’t like is how there can be a double standard.

if hypothetically, the genders were reversed and Pita Taufatofua was a woman and she was to receive the exact same level of objectification, there would be outrage and disgust. The media would have portrayed the people who objectified Pita Taufatofua as sexist and misogynistic

What don’t I understand is how is this acceptable? How is it perfectly ok for a woman to brazenly rub oil onto a man when if it was a man doing this he would be branded a misogynist and severely punished. 

I think the double standard is rife in modern society. I am all in favour of equal opportunities for women but at the same time keep the balance 50:50 for both men and women. if Men cannot objectify Women then at the same time Women cannot objectify Men.

I believe I have made my point, but I really want to engage and discuss this further. so please feel free to contact me. 

As always stay tuned for the next article, until then see you around

Jordan 

Leave a Reply

