Anti Bullying Week: My Story

This week has been the Anti-bullying week, a week where the media highlights bullying and hyperbolize it. This week has brought back some memories, memories that I wish would never go away but here they are, and I’m going to share them tonight.

At secondary school, I’d became a young leader in sport and had been catapulted into leading role in the school. however with this came the problems, the name calling had started again and the isolation happened. 

in Y10 the bullying became physical, I had my lunch stolen from me, my PE kit was dumped in a toilet and I was locked in a sports shed. Every Break Period it would be threats of attacks. The school turned a blind eye and I was in a tailspin. I started self-harming and wanted to kill myself. 

All the anger I had built up came to a head on one day when the ringleader threatened me with a fight and I stood up and called him out. I threw a punch at him. I Had changed. I’d never threw a punch in my life and with that the attacks ended. The bullies were suspended and the ringleader left for good.

 All though I was free, the damage was done. it’s been three years since the bullying ended and even though I’m happy now, but I still suffer from the effects of the bullying. the biggest being low self-esteem. 

I Hope that by having shared my story, I’ve helped push the message that bullying is unjustified and wrong. No one should go through what I went through or anything.

Thanks for Reading and until next time 

See You Around 

Jordan 

Author: JordanDodds

Lead Author and Owner of Journaling Thoughts, Aspiring Journalist and writer. follow on twitter @its_jordandodds

Leave a Reply

